Citation-analysis issues (family-family citations)

Here you can post your opinions, ask questions and share experiences on the PATSTAT product line. Please always indicate the PATSTAT edition (e.g. 2015 Autumn Edition) and the database (e.g. PATSTAT Online, MySQL, MS SQL Server, ...) you are using.

DavidGr

Citation-analysis issues (family-family citations)

Post by DavidGr » Thu Apr 14, 2016 2:28 pm

Hey everyone!

I am a master student currently working on his semester thesis and was interested in using PATSTAT online (version of autumn 2015) to trace back the learning loci in the Lithium-ion battery (LIB) industry. More precisely, I want to perform a forward-citation analysis on a dataset of patents judged relevant:

I am a bit stuck at some point with the use of PATSTAT to finish up the data collection part. Do you think you could help me with that? If this is the case, in order to help you understand my questions, here a summary of my current situation:

I managed without problem to retrieve the patents of interest from the EPO database, but I have some issues performing the citation analysis. More especially, as the on-line version is less potent than the off-line version (especially in terms of intermediate creation of tables), I meet the following issues:
  • (1) I adapted the query from (de Rassenfosse, Dernis, and Boedt 2014) in order to perform a forward citation-analysis on the selected patents (see my query) with a time window of 5 years. My problem now is to further adapt this query to do a family-family citations (as at the moment I am comparing patent applications and expose myself to double counting if I understood well). For this, I had two ideas:
  • (A) Directly extracting the dataset of the relevant patents in terms of LIBs and then using MS access to manually flag the family.
  • (B) Or applying a sub-query directly into the SQL query to restrain the result to intra-family citations.