Count number of patent applications per company

Here you can post your opinions, ask questions and share experiences on the PATSTAT product line. Please always indicate the PATSTAT edition (e.g. 2015 Autumn Edition) and the database (e.g. PATSTAT Online, MySQL, MS SQL Server, ...) you are using.

Tom.Kat

Count number of patent applications per company

Post by Tom.Kat » Wed Nov 22, 2017 11:52 am

Dear all,

I am currently writing my research paper on the topic of post-acquisition innovation performance in the pharma sector. (I am also new to both PATSTAT and SQL.)

I have a list of acquirers that have been active in a particular time interval - meaning they completed a certain acquisition during that time period. I would like to count the acquirer's number of patent applications in an interval of 4 years before & 4 years following the year of the acquisition.

Is it possible to design a query so that it includes the count of the individual acquirer's patent applications a) in the interval before the acquisition; and b) in the interval after the acquisition.
Secondly, can the query include multiple acquirers at the same time - so that making a query for each individual acquiror can be avoided?

I would greatly appreciate any help with this question! :D

Thank you!

Geert Boedt

Re: Count number of patent applications per company

Post by Geert Boedt » Wed Nov 22, 2017 5:07 pm

Hello Tom Kat,
In principle, such query could be made. Maybe you can give a concrete example with a couple of companies so that it becomes more tangible ?
Also what kind of data you would like to have in the output ?
Just a name of the acquirer with the "before and after" number ?
To consider: would you count patent applications or patent families -as such avoiding geographical aspects of the invention- ?
Best regards,

Geert Boedt
PATSTAT support
Business Use of Patent Information
EPO Vienna

Tom.Kat

Post by Tom.Kat » Thu Nov 23, 2017 3:01 pm

Hi Geert,