counting backward and self-citation

Here you can post your opinions, ask questions and share experiences on the PATSTAT product line. Please always indicate the PATSTAT edition (e.g. 2015 Autumn Edition) and the database (e.g. PATSTAT Online, MySQL, MS SQL Server, ...) you are using.

PIERG

counting backward and self-citation

Post by PIERG » Fri Aug 12, 2016 6:17 am

Hi, I am currently working on my thesis, and i'm using the version of Patstat (October 2013).
I want to count the number of forward and backward citations of patents related PV technologies which are applicated in US by Chinese inventor.
I searched this forum for a solution, I found the the solution for forward citation.
However, I couldn't find self-citation and backward citation.

It's my first time with SQL language and I couldn't find solution.
Would you help me, please?

Here is my query that I am working on.

SELECT
DISTINCT year(t1.appln_filing_date) AS year,
t1.appln_auth AS office_ctry,
t1.appln_kind,
t1.appln_id,
t1.appln_nr,
t6.PERSON_ID,
t6.PERSON_CTRY_CODE,
t6.PERSON_NAME,
t9.IPC_CLASS_SYMBOL,
COUNT(distinct t12.PAT_PUBLN_ID) AS forward_citation_5yrs
FROM
tls201_appln t1
INNER JOIN
tls207_pers_appln t7 ON t1.appln_id = t7.APPLN_ID
INNER JOIN
tls206_person t6 ON t7.PERSON_ID = t6.PERSON_ID
INNER JOIN
tls209_appln_ipc t9 ON t1.appln_id = t9.APPLN_ID
INNER JOIN
(SELECT appln_id, MIN(publn_date) AS earliest_date
FROM tls211_pat_publn GROUP BY appln_id) tt ON t1.appln_id = tt.appln_id
INNER JOIN
tls211_pat_publn t11a ON t11a.appln_id = tt.appln_id
INNER JOIN
tls212_citation t12 ON t11a.pat_publn_id = t12.cited_pat_publn_id
INNER JOIN
tls211_pat_publn t11b ON t12.pat_publn_id = t11b.pat_publn_id
WHERE
year(t1.appln_filing_date) >= 1981 AND year(t1.appln_filing_date) <= 2010
AND t1.appln_kind = 'A'
AND t1.appln_auth = 'US'
AND t6.PERSON_CTRY_CODE = 'CN'
AND (t9.IPC_CLASS_SYMBOL LIKE 'F03G 6%'
OR t9.IPC_CLASS_SYMBOL LIKE 'F24J 2%'
OR t9.IPC_CLASS_SYMBOL LIKE 'H01L 27/142%'