Extract useful patent numbers for beginners

Here you can post your opinions, ask questions and share experiences on the PATSTAT product line. Please always indicate the PATSTAT edition (e.g. 2015 Autumn Edition) and the database (e.g. PATSTAT Online, MySQL, MS SQL Server, ...) you are using.

no_idea

Extract useful patent numbers for beginners

Post by no_idea » Sun Oct 08, 2017 6:42 pm

Hey PATSTAT-community,

I'm currently thinking about starting my thesis to the topic: influence of a firm's innovation activities to it's market value.
I thought about how to measure innovation, and thus, among other things, I'm looking for patent data.
Now I found my way to this database.

Unfortunately, I have no experience with setting up datasets, extracting data and definitly need help. :|

So can I extract patents to specific firms and years from this database? ("count patents for firm i in year t"?)
What about trademarks?
How difficult will it be to get useful data?
What skills are required? What kind of software/tool?
Do my little experiences in "MySQL"-queries suffice? Or are they even relevant?
How much time should be scheduled for this?

So you see, I have no idea how i should approach this. :oops: I would really appreciate your support.

Geert Boedt

Re: Extract useful patent numbers for beginners

Post by Geert Boedt » Thu Oct 19, 2017 10:24 am

Hello,
A good start is to go through the various documents (and self learning modules) that are available on the PATSTAT webpage.

Extracting a data set that gives you "number of patents per company" is rather straightforward. Although most researchers would use a count of "families" in order to avoid duplicates due to similar filings for the same invention in another country. (or you could also count "first filings" if the country where the patent was filed is not relevant.)