Extracting all swiss priority applications from applicants without duplicates

Here you can post your opinions, ask questions and share experiences on the PATSTAT product line. Please always indicate the PATSTAT edition (e.g. 2015 Autumn Edition) and the database (e.g. PATSTAT Online, MySQL, MS SQL Server, ...) you are using.

kevinkuri

Extracting all swiss priority applications from applicants without duplicates

Post by kevinkuri » Thu Mar 16, 2023 4:19 pm

Hello everybody

I'm currently working on my thesis in which I am supposed to build a Swiss Technology Monitor. I am fairly new to PATSTAT Online, using the PATSTAT Online Autum 2022 version.

I trying to extract all Swiss Priority applications over all years with an SQL query however I noticed i still have multiple rows for the same application.

Here is what I've got so far (I got the code from here and modified it help-with-sql-query-caunt-applications- ... try-5691 ):

Code: Select all

SELECT DISTINCT a.*, ac.*
FROM tls201_appln a
JOIN tls207_pers_appln pa on a.appln_id = pa.appln_id
JOIN tls206_person p on pa.person_id = p.person_id
join tls224_appln_cpc ac on a.appln_id = ac.appln_id
WHERE appln_auth = 'EP'
AND appln_kind = 'A'  -- exclude PCT filings where the EPO only served as the Receiving Office
AND a.appln_id < 900000000   -- exclude artificial applications (see PATSTAT Data Catalog for details)
AND appln_filing_year between 1800 and 2022
AND applt_seq_nr > 0  -- consider only applicants
AND person_ctry_code = 'CH'  -- applicant must be from CH
The intended output table should have the following structure:
For each appln_id only 1 cpc_class_code

How do I:
A) Identify which CPC Class Symbol should be selected from the multiple current ones I receive right now?
B) How can I modify the query to give me the intended result?

Thanks alot in advance,

Kevin

EPO / PATSTAT Support

Re: Extracting all swiss priority applications from applicants without duplicates