Help with backward citation at industry-level

Here you can post your opinions, ask questions and share experiences on the PATSTAT product line. Please always indicate the PATSTAT edition (e.g. 2015 Autumn Edition) and the database (e.g. PATSTAT Online, MySQL, MS SQL Server, ...) you are using.

andyluong.vn

Help with backward citation at industry-level

Post by andyluong.vn » Wed Mar 22, 2017 5:10 pm

Hi everyone!
I'm currently doing PhD in Economics, and trying to construct the technological spillovers measure at industry-level. I'm just wondering is it by any chance that I can collect the number of backward citations for a period (2005-2013) for all manufacturing industries (like how many backward citations from industry A to industry B and vice versa)? If not, is it possible to do it for different IPC?

I am new to SQL and would be really grateful for any support I can get regarding to this.
I'm trying PATSTAT online autumn version.

Kind regards!
Andy Luong

Geert Boedt

Re: Help with backward citation at industry-level

Post by Geert Boedt » Tue Mar 28, 2017 10:05 am

Hello Andy,
There is no ready aggregated data available that gives industry-industry citations. But the principle is the same as all citation analysis; you only have to aggregate it at a different level. The PATSTAT website contains a number of self-learning publications that have sample queries. In particular, have a look at : "An introduction to the PATSTAT database with example queries" ; it gives an example on how to calculate the number of received citations. (forward and backward citations are in principle the same, but seen from a different position.) You simply have to bring this to "industry level" via the IPC classification codes. (Assuming you use the NACE classification scheme to define the "industries".)
Also check Google Scholar for "patent citations technology flows", you will find plenty of relevant publications.