How to get number of CPC patents by person_ctry_code?

Here you can post your opinions, ask questions and share experiences on the PATSTAT product line. Please always indicate the PATSTAT edition (e.g. 2015 Autumn Edition) and the database (e.g. PATSTAT Online, MySQL, MS SQL Server, ...) you are using.

sejin_an

How to get number of CPC patents by person_ctry_code?

Post by sejin_an » Tue Feb 26, 2019 6:51 am

Dear users.

I'm new in PATSTAT, and struggling to get some data of "specific CPC patent" by "person_ctry_code".
to get some insight from the global status of the patent activity.
By doing this, I tried to merge 3 different table of 'tls201_appln' with 'tls224_appln_cpc', 'tls226_person_orig'.
I have written some queries but not working.
"invalid column name 'appln_id'."

Please give me some idea.
my codes are as belows.

Code: Select all

Select *
from tls224_appln_cpc a join tls201_appln b on a.appln_id = b.appln_id
  join tls226_person_orig c on a.appln_id = c.appln_id
where cpc_class_symbol like 'Y02%'

EPO / PATSTAT Support

Re: How to get number of CPC patents by person_ctry_code?

Post by EPO / PATSTAT Support » Tue Feb 26, 2019 6:14 pm

You got the error message "invalid column name 'appln_id' because "c.appln_id" (which is your alias for "tls226_person_orig.appln_id" does not exist: There is no attribute APPLN_ID in the table TLS226_PERSON_ORIG.

I suggest to check the PATSTAT Data Catalog on http://epo.org/patstat. In the graphical data model in section 3 you see that to combine applications (in table TLS201_APPLN) and persons (in TLS206_PERSON or TLS906_PERSON) you must go via the table TLS207_PERS_APPLN. (Note: Using TLS206/TLS906 is easier than TLS226_PERSON_ORIG. This is usually sufficient, unless you want to dive into the depths of name & address analysis.)
Usually you join 2 tables - like you did - via their common attributes. More generally and correctly, you join tables via the foreign key (FK) as indicated in the diagram.