How to obtain specific bibliographic data for a given EP patent application

This space is made available to users of Open Patent Services (OPS) web-service and now also to users of EPO’s bulk data subscription products such as 14. EPO worldwide bibliographic database (DOCDB), 14.11 EPO worldwide legal status database (INPADOC), 14.12 EP full text data, 14.1 EP bibliographic data (EBD)and more.

Users can ask each other questions, exchange experiences and solutions, post ideas. The moderator will use this space to announce changes or other relevant information.

CB66

How to obtain specific bibliographic data for a given EP patent application

Post by CB66 » Thu Nov 24, 2022 12:15 am

I am a European Patent Attorney with some software development skills (including making web requests and processing XML data received, which I have already done with OPS). I would like to use OPS to simply obtain specific bibliographic data for published European patent applications. That is, for a given EP publication number (known to me) I would like to obtain the following: application number, filing date, title of the invention, applicants (names and addresses) as currently registered. I am not interested in procedural events or case history, e.g. applicants as recorded in the past, nor citations etc. In other words, for ease of processing the data received, if possible, I would like to simply obtain the aforementioned data as they would be shown when consulting the European Patent Register online. Also, if possible, I would like to obtain only the above data (for the given application), rather than “everything” (including cited references etc.), if only to reduce data traffic. I do not fully understand the distinction between the services relating to bibliographic data and to the European patent register (I have consulted the OPS documentation PDF document, and I do understand the meaning of patent data, but the aforementioned distinction is not yet fully clear to me). Therefore,