How to query for joint patents?

Here you can post your opinions, ask questions and share experiences on the PATSTAT product line. Please always indicate the PATSTAT edition (e.g. 2015 Autumn Edition) and the database (e.g. PATSTAT Online, MySQL, MS SQL Server, ...) you are using.

kendels

How to query for joint patents?

Post by kendels » Sat Jul 06, 2013 10:22 pm

Hello,

I am new to SQL and PATSTAT and trying to conduct a query for my thesis. Hopefully I am getting support here.

What do I want to query?

I want to do a query where I get: "All patent applications of a company X where there are more than 1 applicants (companies) in a specific time span"

For example: I want an answer to the question: How many patents did a company X apply together with other companies from 2005 to 2011".

Am I right with the statement, that one invention can be patented in several countries? If this is true, I just want to measure new inventions.

Regarding that, I found that it is not that easy searching for a specific company, because for example Samsung has a lot of subsidiaries which are applicating patents. Drawing on another post in this forum, I would maybe try to do the following query which is giving the organizations with most patent applications with the word for e.g. Samsung in it:

Code: Select all

select tls208_doc_std_nms.doc_std_name_id, tls208_doc_std_nms.doc_std_name, COUNT(*)
FROM tls201_appln
INNER JOIN tls207_pers_appln ON tls201_appln.appln_id=tls207_pers_appln.appln_id 
INNER JOIN tls206_person ON tls207_pers_appln.person_id=tls206_person.person_id
INNER JOIN tls208_doc_std_nms ON tls206_person.doc_std_name_id=tls208_doc_std_nms.doc_std_name_id
WHERE tls208_doc_std_nms.doc_std_name LIKE '%Samsung%'
GROUP BY tls208_doc_std_nms.doc_std_name_id
ORDER BY COUNT(*) DESC;
Then I would pick the top 5 results for each company and try to answer the question mentioned above.