Including variables without ID in the table

Here you can post your opinions, ask questions and share experiences on the PATSTAT product line. Please always indicate the PATSTAT edition (e.g. 2015 Autumn Edition) and the database (e.g. PATSTAT Online, MySQL, MS SQL Server, ...) you are using.

rg2019!

Including variables without ID in the table

Post by rg2019! » Mon Nov 11, 2019 3:28 pm

Hi PATSTAT community/support,

I am using the PATSTAT database for my research project and I have never used it before.
At this moment in time I am able to write a code and successfully download data from PATSAT.
However, for my project I am going to use a more complex code with more variables. Some variables come from tables tls 801, 803, 901, 902 and 904. I see that these tables do not have any identifier. I am able to use the tables with identifiers in it but I can't figure out a way to add the ones without an identifier. My question is how can I select and connect them in my SQL code that they appear in my result table.

I am using PATSTAT Autumn 2019 and the database is PATSTAT online

Kind regards,

Richard
Last edited by rg2019! on Wed Nov 13, 2019 3:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.

EPO / PATSTAT Support

Re: Including variables without ID in the table

Post by EPO / PATSTAT Support » Tue Nov 12, 2019 5:06 pm

Hello Richard,
"Connecting" or "linking" tables in PATSTAT is done via the different kinds of SQL "JOIN" s. A JOIN clause is used to combine rows from two or more tables, based on (a) related column(s) between them. This "related column" is very often the primary key or a combination of "foreign keys".

On the PATSTAT web pages (and this forum) you will find ample examples where tables have been joined.

Here is example making use of the TLS904_NUTS table to do a count of EP applications distributed over the NUTS regions in Italy.

Code: Select all

SELECT tls904_nuts.nuts ,  nuts_label,