IPC queries lead to empty row

Here you can post your opinions, ask questions and share experiences on the PATSTAT product line. Please always indicate the PATSTAT edition (e.g. 2015 Autumn Edition) and the database (e.g. PATSTAT Online, MySQL, MS SQL Server, ...) you are using.

alex_c

IPC queries lead to empty row

Post by alex_c » Mon Feb 06, 2023 11:24 am

Dear support team,

As a junior researcher, I am looking at the evolution of patents in the field of eco-innovation in china (and more specific localities in a second step). To find patents in the realm of eco-inno, I used a working by the OECD giving at the end a list of environmental-related IPC (https://read.oecd-ilibrary.org/environm ... w-en#page1).

The issue is that with the above code I developed, for some IPC I obtain usable results, but for other, the rows remain empty, and cannot figure out why.

Code: Select all

SELECT   appln_filing_year, count (a.appln_id) as 'number of application' 
FROM tls201_appln a
JOIN tls209_appln_ipc i ON a.appln_id = i.appln_id
join tls224_appln_cpc c on a.appln_id = c.appln_id
join tls207_pers_appln x on a.appln_id = x.appln_id
join tls206_person pers on x.person_id = pers.person_id
--
WHERE (i.ipc_class_symbol = 'H05K  13/04' or i.ipc_class_symbol = 'B01D  53/34')
AND a.appln_filing_year BETWEEN 2000 AND 2019
and person_ctry_code ='cn'

GROUP BY a.appln_filing_year
ORDER BY a.appln_filing_year asc 
I would afterward add more IPC or CPC, but let only a few to be more clear. For instance, I obtain empty row (even not 0) with those ICP : B01D 53/36, Y02E 40/10 and so on ... (tough I look at the empty space before the slash)

Could you please enlighten me, or redirect me to an already discussed topic, I look after it on the forum but couldn't find anything.

If I may also ask you, how to identify Chinese cities in PATSTAT, I would be also very glad. I tried with the ZiP code or the address or other items from table 206, but that was not very conclusive.