Problems from nested SELECT

Here you can post your opinions, ask questions and share experiences on the PATSTAT product line. Please always indicate the PATSTAT edition (e.g. 2015 Autumn Edition) and the database (e.g. PATSTAT Online, MySQL, MS SQL Server, ...) you are using.

jon.charterina@ehu.eus

Problems from nested SELECT

Post by jon.charterina@ehu.eus » Tue Mar 12, 2019 11:59 am

Hi,
I am new in this trade. I am asking for help regarding the command I put here (below). I want to retrieve a list of patents containing the number of publications, claims, cited patents, cited articles and data from tls201_appln (main table), and tls209_appln_ipc (restriction to IPCs)
All the time the message I get is:
[SELECT - 0 row(s), 0 secs] [Error Code: 156, SQL State: S0001] Incorrect syntax near the keyword 'FROM'

I'm sure it is a silly mistake, but as I don't have other training with SQL than just a few days, it is hard to solve. Here is the full sentence:

SELECT tls201_appln.*, 'Publications', 'Claims', 'CitedPatents', 'CitedArts', tls209_appln_ipc.*
(SELECT COUNT(*) AS 'Publications', SUM(tls211_pat_publn.publn_claims) AS 'Claims',
SUM( tls212_citation.cited_pat_publn_id) AS 'CitedPatents', SUM(tls212_citation.cited_npl_publn_id) AS 'CitedArts'
FROM tls211_pat_publn, tls212_citation
JOIN tls211_pat_publn ON tls212_citation.pat_publn_id = tls211_pat_publn.pat_publn_id)
FROM tls201_appln, tls211_pat_publn, tls212_citation, tls209_appln_ipc
JOIN tls209_appln_ipc ON tls201_appln.appln_id = tls209_appln_ipc.appln_id
WHERE(( tls209_appln_ipc.ipc_class_symbol LIKE 'B82Y%'
or tls209_appln_ipc.ipc_class_symbol LIKE 'B81C%'
or tls209_appln_ipc.ipc_class_symbol LIKE 'B82B%') -- NANOTECHNOLOGY
AND tls201_appln.granted= 'Y'
AND tls201_appln.publn_first_grant='Y'
AND tls201_appln.earliest_publn_year= 2002)
GROUP BY tls201_appln.appln_id
ORDER BY tls201_appln.appln_id

Any suggestion is welcome!
Thanks!
Jon

EPO / PATSTAT Support

Re: Problems from nested SELECT