Query Help for UK Patent Data

Here you can post your opinions, ask questions and share experiences on the PATSTAT product line. Please always indicate the PATSTAT edition (e.g. 2015 Autumn Edition) and the database (e.g. PATSTAT Online, MySQL, MS SQL Server, ...) you are using.

LucaGI1998

Query Help for UK Patent Data

Post by LucaGI1998 » Fri Mar 27, 2020 1:55 am

Dear PATSTAT community,

I am currently doing some thesis work on UK firm innovation. Since I am new to SQL and PATSTAT, I have been reading through the DATA catalogue to try and make sure I get the data which I need but I'm not entirely sure about a few things. Here is what I'm trying to find:

1) I would like to get all Patents filed by UK based companies in 2008 from all Patenting offices. I realise not all applications will be filed under 1) a company name and 2) there may be multiple versions of said "name"
-Hopefully I would get over this using a harmonised name when I conduct my own analysis (although I may not capture all what I want, which is fine).
2) In order to avoid duplication, e.g. a UK firm patents product 'x' with JPO for japan and identical product 'x' with USPTO for the United States, I want to make sure that an invention patented in multiple jurisdictions is only counted once. It doesn't matter from what patenting office.
3) The respective IPC(s) of all the Patents filed
-I am aware that a single application may have multiple IPC classifications but I am not too worried about this at the moment.

I'd like to order my data as follows, if I can:
-Harmonised company name
-'z' number of patents per harmonised company
-respective IPC(s) of each individual patent filed by harmonised company

From what I understand, this will give me the total number of patents filled by a harmonised company, taking into account patent families and counting them as '1' invention, and the totals of the individual IPCs for all patents of the harmonised company.