Simple Title/Abstract Query for keywords

This space is made available to users of Open Patent Services (OPS) web-service and now also to users of EPO’s bulk data subscription products such as 14. EPO worldwide bibliographic database (DOCDB), 14.11 EPO worldwide legal status database (INPADOC), 14.12 EP full text data, 14.1 EP bibliographic data (EBD)and more.

Users can ask each other questions, exchange experiences and solutions, post ideas. The moderator will use this space to announce changes or other relevant information.

AlexHaus

Simple Title/Abstract Query for keywords

Post by AlexHaus » Wed Jan 27, 2016 6:29 pm

Hi,

I am new to the API and I want to fetch some simple queries e.g.: How often is a specific term (e.g. "obesity") mentioned in either abstract or title of patents. This is easily possible via the website (http://worldwide.espacenet.com/searchRe ... =&CPC=&IC=). I want to achieve the same via the webservice, but could't come to the same results I obtained manually. Could anybody give me a hint how the query should look like?

As I have many search terms, I like to implement it using the python "python-epo-ops-client" in a later stage.

Thanks in advance!

EPO / OPS Support

Re: Simple Title/Abstract Query for keywords

Post by EPO / OPS Support » Fri Jan 29, 2016 9:04 am

Hi,

There are several reasons why search results cannot match:

Espacenet is a fully functional database and OPS is web service offering access to the raw data. That means that when you are searching Espacenet you search a database that has a lot of different business rules in place that help you get best response possible with the less effort from your side. OPS can only give you exactly what you ask for without offering you any additional information. Every piece of information actually needs new URL query in OPS because there are no business rules in place.

So, in case of your search that means: