Transformation between IPC and NACE

Here you can post your opinions, ask questions and share experiences on the PATSTAT product line. Please always indicate the PATSTAT edition (e.g. 2015 Autumn Edition) and the database (e.g. PATSTAT Online, MySQL, MS SQL Server, ...) you are using.

torben

Transformation between IPC and NACE

Post by torben » Thu Nov 12, 2015 10:09 am

Hello,
I’m a student at the universtity of Bremen. Im searching for a query which identifies patents with at least 3 different NACE classes generated out of the IPC-Classes.
With that approach I want to identify cross-industry innovation.

I found a paper about the concordance between IPC and NACE provided by Eurostat in co-operation with KU Leven/ Belgium. https://circabc.europa.eu/sd/a/d1475596 ... 2_2014.pdf

I need a query with following boundary conditions:
It’s necessasry for each patent to count the different IPC classes. If the number of different IPC classes is equal or greater than 3 than it has to convert the IPC classes into NACE classes (based on method of the paper from Eurostat).
After that it has to check if there are at least 3 different NACE classes.

So I'm new in programming a SQL-code and my questions are:
- Is it possible to count IPC classes from one Patent?
- Is it possible check if there are at least 3 different NACE clases for one patent?

nico.rasters

Re: Transformation between IPC and NACE

Post by nico.rasters » Fri Nov 20, 2015 2:37 pm

Do you have access to a local installation of PATSTAT or are you working with PATSTAT Online?
Are you looking at the full IPC class, or only at for example the subclass?

Daigu Academic Services & Data Stewardship
http://www.daigu.nl/

torben

Post by torben » Sun Nov 22, 2015 8:41 am

Hello nico.rasters,
thanks for your reply. I have an access to a local installation of PATSTAT. And I'm using Microsoft Server Management Studio.